Chamber Collaborative elects new board members

PORTSMOUTH — The annual membership meeting for the Chamber Collaborative of Greater Portsmouth was held virtually June 17 and featured a discussion of fiscal year 2021 and the election of officers. 


As board chair, Monte Bohanan, of The Music Hall, thanked board members, retiring President Valerie Rochon, President Ben VanCamp, chamber staff, and highlighted the work the organization has undergone this past year, challenges it faced and overcame—and some—such as COVID-19, whose effects it is still facing. 


Bohanan said, “The pandemic has shone a light brightly that these times call for a doubling down on collaboration and a commitment to our community and our members. The value proposition of having this organization vital and relevant to advocate, educate, and connect has never been stronger. Valerie, Ben, Jenn, Michelle, and Judy have risen to every challenge that this year has thrown at us. It has been my distinct pleasure to work with them all on the initiatives that have kept us in the forefront of our member’s minds. Whether that be through council or more often than not, getting out of their way and cheering them on as they charge forth.” 


Bohanan also thanked and commended outgoing board members Keith Bamford, Daystar Technologies; John Crisp, First Seacoast Bank, who served as former treasurer; Debbie Moore, Cambridge Trust; and Ron Rockelein, Colwen Hotels, who served as treasurer.   


“In many ways this the beginning of a new day at the Chamber Collaborative with new board leadership and members along with a change in leadership on the staff. It is an exciting time in the organization and our community,” said Ben VanCamp, President and Chief Collaborator, Chamber Collaborative. 


The following existing board members have been nominated by the Board of Directors to serve on the Executive Committee: 


  • Monte Bohanan, The Music Hall - Chair 

  • Russ Grazier, Portsmouth Music & Arts Center (PMAC) - Vice Chair 

  • Lindsey Donahue, Keane & Macdonald, PC - Treasurer 

  • Lisa Gainty, TD Bank - Immediate Past Chair 


The following nominees are completing terms left vacant by board members who left their terms early. They are being elected for Fiscal Year 2022. 


  • Amy Amirault, Colwen Hotels 

  • Shane Brewer, First Seacoast Bank;  

  • Javi Kalback, Portsmouth Escape Room;  

  • Todd Sigmon, Wentworth-Douglass Hospital. 


The following nominees were elected for a three-year term for Fiscal Year 2022 - 2024: 

  • John Akar, Cava Tapas and Wine Bar 

  • John Bohenko, Prescott Park Arts Festival board member 

  • Sean Clancy, Great Bay Community College 

  • L. Renee Couture, Krempels Center 

  • Brent Mathieson, re-VIVE Auto Detailing and Ceramic Coatings 

  • Brian Todd, CIT Bank 


The Chamber Collaborative of Greater Portsmouth is the business collective of the greater Portsmouth community. The chamber’s mission is to lead the greater Portsmouth business community as a convener of people, businesses and organizations, through communication, education, support, advocacy and cooperative opportunities. For information, visit